Reviews: The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain

Early reviews are in for The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain from readers in 45 U.S. states and 20 countries including Australia, Bulgaria, Canada, France, Germany, India, Ireland, the Netherlands, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United Kingdom.

Read The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain


READERS’ REVIEWS of THE DARK SIDE OF HUNGER MOUNTAIN:

… compelling, deeply dramatic, and reminiscent of novels when they meant something.

… Full of intriguing plot twists and juicy information vital to understanding what and why things are happening the way they are…

•… riveting … a story that needed to be told … a timeless book … one hell of a novel … poignant … beautifully written …

… a totally awesome book that I couldn’t put down! I still think about those characters.

… an eye opening exposition of the vile things effecting every aspect of our lives.

… Your depth of knowledge of the dark under belly of our world where we are merely puppets both educated and terrified me. Thank You for your brilliance!!

… I couldn’t stop! I actually took the whole day off yesterday and read the book online.

•… Millions of people around the world will relate to this book, especially to the characters as they face authentic challenges detailed so well by the author.

… a seriously interesting novel, a fast-moving story with strong characters and real human drama. Highly recommend.

… one of the best books I’ve ever read.

…and more:

ELIZABETH NICKSON: T. H. PLATT is one of the most knowledgeable people about the catastrophe wrought in rural regions all over the world …and has written a novel which painlessly describes what has been going on. …The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain is both an escape into a parallel world, and confers knowledge you will find nowhere else. You will come out of it fully enlightened about one of the battlefields of the modern era. I highly recommend it. It is compelling, deeply dramatic, and reminiscent of novels when they meant something.

QUINCY: I read the first three chapters of the Dark Side Of Hunger Mountain by T.H. PLATT on Elizabeth Nickson’s Substack and I couldn’t stop! I actually took the whole day off yesterday and read the book online. I don’t know if I’ve ever done that before. I almost always just buy print books and sort of linger over the great ones, reluctant to finish and end the joyful experience. Like mature lovemaking. But yesterday was definitely a teenage rush, to continue the analogy. TH has literally written one of the best books I’ve ever read. Full of intriguing plot twists and juicy information vital to understanding what and why things are happening the way they are, this summer of 2024. I will be ordering the printed copy for a more leisurely re-read and for all the incredible who-what-when-where-why research information the book is cleverly packed full of.

KAYTLYN: I too had not read a digital book and stopped everything to read this! Teenage rush indeed lol! I really appreciated this read. Good writing. Good story. I learned a lot!

JEN: It was so riveting that I ended up burning through it in less than a day. Couldn't stop reading. That hasn't happened in awhile. My husband and son were a bit irked at the “go feed yourselves” instructions.

JOHN: Like I didn't have enough to read already! This one sucked me in with the first paragraph & I've been reading pretty much to the exclusion of everything else ever since. Thanks a whole hell of a lot -- which I mean both ironically and even more sincerely.

SAMO: Thanks for posting this book. DARK SIDE is like Painless Sunday School. It is simultaneously a fast-paced novel AND a great education on the global elites -- what they do, how they do it, and why. Great book! Highly recommend. Was hooked after first chapter. This would make a great series!

KEVIN: I'm hooked... Thanks for sharing!

REBECCA: You wont be able to put it down....fantastic plot and characters!

GARY: I enjoyed reading Hunger Mountain very much! So much so, that I shared it with friends. Reads like a realistic crime novel, with insights into the “green” agenda, and corruption on many levels. I live in California, and have witnessed the destruction of towns and forests, which seem to be part of a plan of control.

GRAHAME: After reading The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain, you are unlikely to see a stack of timber again without thinking of the people responsible for creating it and the challenges they have overcome so people can use wood. While forestry is the contextual canvas upon which this exciting story is painted, it is clear that the same political context applies to other communities providing resources for our benefit. Millions of people around the world will relate to this book, especially to the characters as they face authentic challenges detailed so well by the author. The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain is a seriously interesting novel, a fast-moving story with strong characters and real human drama. Highly recommend.

KARA: I just loved the book! The way you weaved fictional characters into what is happening in the real (?) :-) world was awe inspiring. I felt like I’d read about real people and their trials and tribulations. …a totally awesome book that I couldn’t put down! I still think about those characters. …Your depth of knowledge of the dark under belly of our world where we are merely puppets both educated and terrified me. Thank You for your brilliance!!

SUSAN: All the things happening in the book made me nod. I saw these things happening to forestry, from a distance, and you gave me the close-up view painting the picture of what happened behind the scenes. It’s happening to farmland too.

STEPHEN: I can't put it down. It defines so much of the tyranny we now live under in all aspects of our lives. Another wake-up kick in the pants…

JARROD: A timeless book highlighting both past and modern-day issues. This book will no doubt become more poignant as the years go by with ever-increasing attempts by centralized powers to control us at the most personal and local levels.

CYNDI: I loved it, thank you, I also shared and recommended to others, …I actually need to buy a hard copy to give to my daughter. Thanks again for sharing your work.

LAURA: Got the book and read it in a few days. It's a good read; really liked the characters. The information is amazing; we can learn a lot from the struggles of the timber community. Boggles the mind how convoluted, illogical and inefficient the systems have become. Thanks so much for writing this and putting it in an enjoyable work of fiction. I have already begun to share the story with friends and look forward to hearing how the book is received.

STEPHEN: I'm enjoying… The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain. … It's one hell of a novel so far. Thanks for your 🔥 story!

ELAINE: I always knew there was more than meets the eye. I think you pulled the curtain back in a very entertaining way and I couldn't put the book down. Thank you..... and WOW

JAMES: It was beautifully written. I would have been shocked by the things I learned about all the outside dirty players in the natural resources game and the exploitations involved. Not so much anymore with all the deceptions and crimes that we’re discovering have been and are being committed by Big Pharma, Ag, Food, Defense, NGO’s, Ecofreaks etc. Thank you for this eye opening exposition of the vile things effecting every aspect of our lives. I generally am not the type of person who can’t put a book down once I start, but this was certainly the case with your book. I greatly appreciate the necessity and timeliness of this book. It’s a story that needed to be told and I’ll look forward to your sequel.


THANK YOU to all my readers for your kinds words and for recommending the book to others. T.H. PLATT

Share The Dark Side of Hunger Mountain

100% reader-supported! To contribute....


T.H. PLATT · thplattbooks@gmail.com · +1 760-468-2025 USA